Home South America Copa Libertadores Copa Libertadores 2014 Groups : Mexican teams know their opponents

Copa Libertadores 2014 Groups : Mexican teams know their opponents

This Thursday, December 12, 2013, the Copa Libertadores 2014 groups were drawn.  The tournament is composed of eight groups with four teams, and it will begin in late January, 2014.  Before the group stages, there will be six ‘wild card’ series where the six winners will be the last teams to officially qualify into the tournament.  With this draw, the three Liga MX teams (Leon, Morelia, and Santos Laguna), now know who their opponents will be in this prestigious tournament.

Monarcas Morelia qualified into the Copa Libertadores 2014 as ‘Mexico 3’, meaning they have to play in a pre-group wild card series.  Morelia was drawn into Game 5, where their opponent will be Independiente Santa Fe from Colombia.  The winner of that series will be put into Group 4 along with Atletico Mineiro (Brazil), Nacional (Paraguay), and Zamora (Venezuela).

Club Leon qualified as Mexico 2, therefore they obtained their direct pass into the group stages.  The team coached by Gustavo Matosas will compete in their second consecutive Libertadores, although last year they were eliminated in the wild card stage.  Leon was drawn into Group 7 along Bolivar (Bolivia), Flamengo (Brazil), and Emelec (Ecuador).

Lastly, Santos Laguna qualified directly into the group stages as Mexico 1.  They were drawn into Group 8 along Peñarol (Uruguay), Arsenal (Argentina), and Deportivo Anzoategui (Venezuela).

Copa Libertadores 2014 Groups

Group 1
Velez Sarsfield
Bolivia 2
Peru 1
Winner: Sporting Cristal vs Atletico Paranaense

Group 2
Union Española
Argentina 3
Independiente Jose Terán
Winner: Deportivo Quito vs Botafogo

Group 3
Cerro Porteño
Deportivo Cali
Winner: Caracas vs Argentina 5

Group 4
Atletico Mineiro
Nacional de Paraguay
Winner: Morelia vs Independiente de Santa Fe

Group 5
Defensor Sporting
Peru 2
Winner: Chile 3 vs Guaraní

Group 6
Newlls Old Boys
Atletico Nacional
Winner: Oriente Petrolero vs Nacional de Uruguay

Group 7

Group 8
Arsenal de Sarandí
Deportivo Anzoategui
Santos Laguna